Coffee Times Is Gone, but Winston Still Owes An Apology

Araci Almeida
3 min readAug 4, 2022
Photo by Fahmi Fakhrudin on Unsplash

Like many of you, I was surprised by the disappearance of the Coffee Times publication. I only noticed the publication was gone when I tried to submit a story and could no longer find it on my side.

I thought the whole thing was odd, but while trying to figure out what was going on, I looked at my email inbox when I saw a message from Coffees Times on Substack.

I read the story and then realized that Winston, the owner of Coffee Times, who I always read and looked up to, had ended it, claiming that he was tired and had no time for his family and friends. That was it. I thought that was the main reason why, after such a long work, the publication with such a huge success was gone…

After reading Winston's statement, there was only a brief mention of a minor incident of which I was unsure what it was.

Wanting to know more, I came across the news about the infamous article against the LGBT community. Like most of you, I was surprised that a publication of that size would make such a basic mistake and publish an article whose title said a lot about its potential content.

However, Winston's statement did not go straight to the point. It just surrounded it and introduced a personal issue. Apologizing to the writers but forgetting to apologize primarily to…

--

--

Araci Almeida

Trying to be the next Annie Ernaux but failing it every day