The Pressure of Being a Know-It-All

Araci Almeida
3 min readAug 9, 2022
Photo by Carl Heyerdahl on Unsplash

Another day of teaching. That’s my work. The day is not half over, and I’m overcome by tremendous tiredness.

I see my eyes in the camera I look at every day in this online world; they are red, with black bags under them. I have the sudden feeling of scratching them while at the same time concentrating on speaking good English while giving Portuguese lessons.

I know I am switching words and using ‘nice’ too often. But while the exhaustion is more than evident, I am already thinking about what I might do in my spare time.

Strangely, instead of dreaming of being still, relaxing, and resting, I :

  • feel the urge to pick up three or four books and finish them;
  • Or I plan on reflecting on an exciting topic, studying it, and writing about it here,
  • Or, if that doesn't work, I also want to go back to Greek classes or continue German lessons.

I finish the lessons, pick up the books, and open them all while I too open the computer to write words. Or I grab a notebook and a pen and start scribbling down topics and trying to write about one of them. I now have dozens of drafts here waiting to be finished.

This is all done with some YouTube video in the background, alternating with something funny and something more…

--

--

Araci Almeida

Trying to be the next Annie Ernaux but failing it every day